Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-23 - 3:28 p.m.

Time for the mid-afternoon caffeine break. I just finished a very annoying securities litigation research assignment. I know next-to-nothing about securities, so it was just painful to try to slog through the treatises, understanding basically nothing. I gave the partner this crappy, scattered memo that I really think he is not going to like. I probably should have had one of the other associates read it first, but I just feel like everyone is so busy and I should not bother them. Man, I totally should have let someone else proof it because this partner that I�m working with, EGR, is supposedly really good at holding grudges once you get on his bad side. He likes me so far, but this might be the kicker.

The Big Boss stopped by my office today. The managing partner of the New York office, FES. I feel like I am always doing something stupid when he shows up. At least he has never caught me eating; I would die of mortification. Anyway, he came in when I was ordering wine online for our picnic in Battery Park tomorrow. Um, clearly not a work-related activity. He asked if I was busy enough and I told him I�d just gotten put on the [Huge Pharmaceutical] case.

[Huge Pharmaceutical] is going to keep me really busy, I�m pretty sure of that. The only thing that sucks is that the NY partner on the case is ADP. I really don�t get a good vibe from her. She is small and mousy-looking, with thin blonde hair and an annoying way of making me feel very stupid. But then again, it is not hard to make me feel stupid. But ADP just seems to not like me, which makes me very uncomfortable. I am pretty sure I�m not going to get to do anything good on the [Huge Pharmaceutical] case because it is so big and there are so many partners and associates crawling all over it. It�s not like I�m going to be writing the briefs like I am on the [Car Manufacturer] case.

One thing I love about my job is that they stock such good beverages. San Pellegrino in the office! I really am grateful. And every other Thursday we have this afternoon get-together where food is ordered in and we all gorge ourselves in one of the conference rooms. Today is Mexican: fajitas and tacos. Mmmm. Although no Mexican food in NY has been as good as the Mexican food in Southern California, where I went to law school.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!